TIME TO REFLECT: Digging deeper; Seaching within

When I started out my blog, I had no clue what I doing or what exactly I was getting into. I had heard that people could write stuff and post it out there on the web… and I just felt like I had gotta jump onto that band-wagon. Blogger? Me? Sounded cool I can reckon. So I looked up an app and there it was wordpress. Done! Deal sealed!

So in the midst of all this haste I had made a conscious decision not to make any of my content personal. My aim was to distant myself and let my writing do the talking. No selfies, No anecdotes, No personal diary writing … nah wasn’t having any of that.

Needless to say this is the first touchy feely bits to me. Am’ma be real… real with you boo *Black girl accent* haha okay nuff with the slacking now.

It’s the 5th of June and am getting hit with the nostalgic bug!

image
Nostalgic moments

Why now you would think? Well because its a fortnight away from my birthday date (yikes!). Yeah so reality waves seem to be rocking hard on my side of the sail… which I feel it’s natural and typical to us because it marks another blessed year of existence mother earth has dawned upon us.

As for me am taking this particular one quite differently than the rest. Looking way back it was filled with Birthday cakes and balloons and blowing of candles with a tiara on feeling happy as ever! Goodness the innocence of a child is priceless I tell ya! Priceless! Living young and wild and free…. then life happens! Of late I haven’t had a lot of jovial days to awake to; your experience may be different,but mine was chilled and relaxed!! Actually soo chilled for that matter. I barely have any idea if anyone in my fam knew I turned 17… owh yea they did ,    AT THE VERY END OF THE DAY!

However this year as I turn 19 I have mixed feelings. I have crossed the much earnestly waited upon year of my life : 18 years old. The moment the world puts the adulthood plank over your head. Heavy much?

To me this year has been a whirlwind of activities. Soo much to learn about myself and life and getting to discover myself and find who I am and what my prefrences are. During the course of the year I chose my career (big deal) which is major step in the right direction. I’ve had my fair share of success in school and got some achievements up my sleeves … and yes there were failures! But if Rihanna’s tatoo is anything to go by;

“Never a failure Always a lesson”

image

I’ve been hard knocked by some of life’s crude lessons: Made and lost friends; Met charming new people some of whom have impacted my life others who changed me for the better; Bonded more with my family clan; But above all I learnt that life happens and is happening right now the way it’s supposed to be regardless of whether we like it or not. It’s the vision of how life… we think is supposed to be, that causes us to not to be happy. – scrap that Mental blueprint and live it!
The (famous) late Maya Angelou once said,”

If you don’t like something change it. If you can’t, change your attitude.”

It’s okay to not be okay all the time~ so I read somewhere. To weather myself through this demanding “adulthood” phrase I have constantly been nurtured and uplifted by the awesome articles posted by Marc&Angel here http://www.marcandangel.com/
Their words of wit and gentle advice goes beyond depth of heart. Very thought provoking but each time I read any new content from them (which I do literally allatime) I feel uplifted and encouraged every step of my journey.

So they love to say you become an adult at 18 yrs of age. I’d love for them to tell me what being 19 yrs old makes me. Hmmm?

On an individual POV though, I just hope the best awaits me this unfolding year as an immortal being. All kumbaya and rainbows? Long shot… but I hope to stay joyous, be creative, exude positivity and find love 😉

Yeah I know I’m crossing the big 18 but there was no harm for me to re-read this piece I loved by Marc http://www.marcandangel.com/2010/06/21/18-things-i-wish-someone-told-me-when-i-was-18/
while my time still lasts…

image

image

Did you like it?
Share it with your friends and start a conversation Now!
Tweet it and mention me in your tweets @Okumu_Joyce
hashtag it #understatedchaos

Leave a Reply

